Experts at UH Available to Discuss Issues Surrounding the Tsunami

Eric Gerber
713-743-8189 (office)
281-627-2065 (cell)
egerber@uh.edu

As you consider stories for your continuing coverage of the tsunami, the University of Houston offers these experts in various fields as possible resources.

Science of Tsunamis

Shuhab D. Khan, assistant professor of geosciences, is involved in an NSF funded global scale project to develop a geoinformatics system for understanding the tectonics of Tethys, part of which was hit by the tsunami. The area extends from SE Asia to Gibraltar, which is heavily troubled by collision-related earthquakes and volcanoes.
Phone: (713) 743-3411
E-mail: sdkhan@uh.edu

Bill Dupre, associate professor of geosciences, has mapped areas of potential tsunami inundation in the San Francisco Bay region.
Phone: (713) 743-3425
E-mail: wdupre@uh.edu

Economics in the Wake of Disaster

Needs shift quickly during tragedies like the tsunami, says economics professor Tom DeGregori, so it’s important to remain adaptable during the rebuilding process. DeGregori has helped mobilize long-term recovery efforts in Asia during a number of past disaster interventions including the floods in Mozambique and the hurricane in Grenada.
Phone: (713) 743-3838
Fax: (713) 743-3798
E-mail: trdegreg@uh.edu


Logistics After the Disaster

Ravaged coastlines and countrysides are challenging relief efforts. Bob Seaker, assistant professor in the Department of Information and Logistics Technology can address the logistical obstacles facing rescue and relief teams. Robert Seaker, assistant professor of information and logistics technology
Office: (713) 743-4095
Cell: (832) 755-7502
E-mail:  rfseaker@uh.edu

Psychological Impact for Survivors

The survivors of the recent tsunami are tending to their physical wounds, but their psychological scars may take longer to heal. Jeremy Pettit, assistant professor of psychology, can address the anxieties faced by disaster survivors.
Cell: (713) 743-8573
E-mail: jpettit@uh.edu

The impact of disasters and other trauma on an individual may not be apparent in the immediate days and weeks following the event. Mary Armsworth, associate professor of educational psychology, is an expert in the effects of trauma and responding to trauma.
Phone: (713) 743-9815
E-mail:marmsworth@uh.edu

Architecture and Structures

The force of a natural disaster of this magnitude can pulverize buildings and other structures or else render them uninhabitable. Joe Colaco, professor at the Gerald D. Hines College of Architecture, can provide insight into the effects of a natural event of this magnitude on the integrity of structures and the prudent responses needed.
Phone: (713) 629-1982
E-mail:jcolaco@uh.edu

Bill Price, a professor at the College of Architecture, and his students will adopt a Thai village with the intention of designing a prototype shelter for survivors. Price and a graduate student from Thailand are surveying the tsunami-struck area to assess damage.
Phone: (713) 823-9582
E-mail:bpprice@hotmail.com or wprice@uh.edu