Marisa Ramirez
mrcannon@uh.edu
713-743-8152

Primary Resources: UH Experts on the Texas Vote

Bookmark and Share
March 3, 2008-Houston-
As you pursue stories on the Texas Primary, please keep in mind these experts from the University of Houston. Should you have difficulty contacting any of the professors, please give us a call.

Christine LeVeaux-Haley is an assistant professor of political science in The Honors College at the University of Houston. Her expertise includes black politics, legislative politics and American government. Her current research focuses on black representation in Congress, race-based redistricting, and voter preferences and behavior. Reach her at 713-743-2355 or clsharpe@uh.edu. Renee Cross is an associate director of the UH Center for Public Policy. A lecturer in political science, her expertise includes Houston and Texas politics. Reach her at 713-743-3972 or rcross@uh.edu.

Jeronimo Cortina is an associate professor of political science who has expertise in American politics, Latino politics and immigration. He also is bilingual, should you need a Spanish speaker. Reach him at 713-743-3894 or jcortina@uh.edu.

Ernesto Calvo is an associate professor in the department of political science. His expertise includes American and Latino politics. He also is bilingual, should you need a Spanish speaker. Reach him at 713-743-3892 or ecalvo@uh.edu.

Brandon Rottinghaus is an assistant professor in the department of political science. His expertise includes American politics, the presidency, media, public opinion, political communication, executive-legislative relations and electoral politics. Reach him at 713-743-3890 or bjrottinghaus@uh.edu.

Luis Salinas is a professor of sociology who has expertise in Latino issues. He also is bilingual, should you need a Spanish speaker. Reach him at 713-743-3957 or lsalinas@uh.edu.

How will the policies espoused by current panel of presidential candidates affect the elderly? Andrew Achenbaum, professor of history and social work, and Geri Adler, assistant professor of social work, have researched extensively various issues related to gerontology. Reach Achenbaum at 713-743-8070 or Achenbaum@uh.edu. Reach Adler at 713-743-8114 or gladler@uh.edu.

About the University of Houston
The University of Houston, Texas' premier metropolitan research and teaching institution, is home to more than 40 research centers and institutes and sponsors more than 300 partnerships with corporate, civic and governmental entities. UH, the most diverse research university in the country, stands at the forefront of education, research and service with more than 35,000 students.

Categories: