25TH Annual Barbara Jordan Media Awards Ceremony Takes Place Friday at UH

Since 1982 the Texas Governor's Committee on People with Disabilities Barbara Jordan Media Awards have recognized media professionals and others for accurately and progressively portraying Texans with disabilities. This year's event takes place Friday at the University of Houston Hilton Hotel, 4800 Calhoun St. A reception begins at 11:30 a.m., followed by a luncheon and awards ceremony.

The awards are named for former Congresswoman Barbara Jordan, one of Texas' most distinguished residents and advocates for the rights of all people.

The Barbara Jordan Awards recognize media professionals who communicate to the public the accomplishments and positive impact people with disabilities have made in communities, personally and professionally.

This year's award categories include: television, print, photojournalism and special contribution. Greg Groogan and Mark Muller of Houston's KRIV-TV, as well as David Barron and Mayra Beltran of the Houston Chronicle will be recognized.

For information on award winners, visit: http://www.governor.state.tx.us/divisions/disabilities/awards/jordan/winners-2007.

The event is hosted by the Texas Governor's Committee and the Houston Mayor's Committee for Employment of People with Disabilities.

The dress is business casual; tickets are $35 per person. Sponsorship tables are available. For event and award winner information, contact: Evelyn Timmins at 281-388-1967 or dial 711 for Texas Relay or use your preferred Relay Service.

WHAT: 2008 Barbara Jordan Media Awards Ceremony
WHEN: 11:30 a.m., Friday, April 25
WHERE: University of Houston Hilton Hotel, 4800 Calhoun St. For directions and parking information, visit: http://www.uh.edu/campus_map/buildings/CHC.php