Skip to main content

Sarofim Awards and Commissions

Sarofim Composition Awards

Courtesy of a generous gift from Louisa Sarofim, the composition department awards annual
composition prizes for the best undergraduate and graduate student works. A panel of
professional composers outside the school of music is selected each year to adjudicate the
competition. Winners receive a cash prize and are commissioned to compose a new work for

Graduate Student Award Winners & Commissioned Work

Undergraduate Student Award Winners & Commissioned Work

  • 2016 — Yanis Eberhart, New Work
  • 2015 — Victor Rangel, New Work (flute, clarinet, violin, viola, cello, piano & percussion)
  • 2014 — Kyle Rivera, Aborcordina (viola & piano)
  • 2013 — Adam Beard, Tessellations (flute & piano)
    Tessellations (excerpt)
  • 2012 — Martin Quiroga, Subluxation, #dislocatedshoulder, (two pianos)
    Subluxation, #dislocatedshoulder (excerpt)
  • 2011 — Alex Winkler, Combustible (two pianos)
    Combustible (excerpt)
  • 2010 — Phillip Elder, In Transit (percussion duo)
    In Transit (excerpt)
  • 2009 — Hong-Da Chin, Lost Sound (violin & marimba)
    Lost Sound (excerpt)
  • 2008 — Paul Wadle, Exertion/Distortion (fl, cl, vn, vc, pf, perc)
    Exertion/Distortion (excerpt)
  • 2007 — Hugh Lobel, Through the Electric Naught (fl, cl, vn, vc, pf, perc)
  • 2006 — Devin Collins, El Devorador de Eternidad (fl, cl, vn, vc, pf, perc)