2018 Retreat Counselor and Orientation Advisor Application

2018 Retreat Counselor and Orientation Advisor Application

DEADLINE TO SUBMIT APPLICATION:
Friday, February 23, 2018 5:00 p.m.

ANNOUNCEMENT OF ADVISORS AND RETREAT COUNSELOR SELECTIONS:
Thursday, March 8, 2018

SUMMER ORIENTATION ADVISOR EXPECTATIONS/DUTIES

- Meet incoming Honors students before they come to Honors Retreat by serving as a student advisor at Summer Orientation.

- Advisors must work at least 2 of the following dates to assist in the advising and registration of the incoming class:

- Each Honors Advising session will last from 11 a.m. - 4 p.m. on the second day (Except April 27, which will last from 12:00-7:00pm). Lunch is provided!

- Each advisor is required to attend one Advisor Training session on the following dates:
Friday, March 23, from 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
Friday, April 13, from 2:00 - 4:00 p.m.
Tuesday, May 1, from 12:00 - 2:00 p.m.

***Advisors who participate in at least four summer orientation sessions are eligible to receive a complimentary rate for Honors Retreat***

HONORS RETREAT COUNSELOR EXPECTATIONS/DUTIES

Honors Retreat 2018 will be held at Camp Allen, a campsite/conference facility located 55 miles Northwest of Houston near Navasota, Texas, on August 16 & 17. We will leave campus at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, August 16 and return after dinner on Friday, August 17.

Counselors are expected to:
- Attend the MANDATORY Retreat Counselor meeting on Friday, March 23, from 2:00-4:00 p.m.
- Attend the MANDATORY Retreat Counselor meeting on Tuesday, May 1, from 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.
- Respond to summer emails outlining details for Retreat and requesting your preferences, ideas, and suggestions.
- Be available for the small group training session on Sunday, August 12, from 11:00 - 6:00 p.m.
- Retreat Planning Committee meetings will be held on April 6, April 20, and May 4 from 2:00 - 3:00 p.m.
- Attend the MANDATORY Counselor Duty meeting on Wednesday, August 15, from 5:00 - 7:00 p.m.
- Ensure a successful Honors Retreat by welcoming the incoming Honors students, heading up color groups, encouraging participation in activities, offering insight at workshops, and generally making the new students feel a part of The Honors College!
- Enjoy early residence halls move-in for Retreat participants only (Wednesday, August 15).

HONORS PHONE-A-THON PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENT
Prospective Retreat Counselors must complete at least 4 Phone-a-thons during the Spring semester. Spring 2018 Phone-at-thons are listed below:

February
Thursday, February 1
Monday, February 5
Wednesday, February 7
Tuesday, February 13
Wednesday, February 14
Monday, February 26

March
Thursday, March 1
Monday, March 5
Thursday, March 8
Tuesday, March 20
Wednesday, March 21
Monday, March 26

April
Monday, April 2
Thursday, April 5
Wednesday, April 11
Tuesday, April 17
Wednesday, April 18
Tuesday, April 24
Wednesday, April 25

PLEASE NOTE: APPLICANTS WILL BE CONSIDERED ON BASIS OF: APPLICATION QUALITY, GRADE POINT AVERAGE, CLASSIFICATION, PREVIOUS PERFORMANCE AS AN ADVISOR AND/OR RETREAT COUNSELOR, HONORS PHONE-A-THON PARTICIPATION, AND OTHER HONORS EVENT EXPERIENCE.

Questions? Please contact the Honors Retreat Team at honorsretreat@gmail.com.