The Honors College

College Navigation

Arete Student & Faculty Stories

Long Wins Farfel

Long Wins Farfel

Longtime friend of Honors Stuart Long was awarded the Esther Farfel Award in May 2010.


Recent Stories

Collaborations in Honors The Honors College works with departments and colleges across campus.

Honors Rides the MS 150 An Honors team took part in last April's MS 150 ride from Houston to Austin.

Summer Travels: Spain and israel In this year's study abroad, Honors students, faculty, and alumni traveled to Spain and Israel.

Long Wins Farfel Honors Associate Dean (and interim VP/VC of Research) Stuart Long won the Esther Farfel Award.

Current Issue — Download

More Stories

Jesse Rainbow (Fall 2010Honors alumnus Jesse Rainbow was awarded Harvard's Bowdoin prize.

Human Situation: From Virgil to Virtual (Spring 2010Professor Armstrong, the coordinator of the Human Situation, has tried to share the best parts of Human Sit on the course's new web site.

Prolific Honors Professor a "Better Scholar" Thanks to Honors (Spring 2010Professor Rob Zaretsky credits some of his prolific success to Honors.

Space to Breathe (Spring 2010) In the spring course Asthmatic Spaces: Houston/New York, Dr. Dan Price and his students apply philosophy and humanities questions to the study of asthma.

Honors Takes D.C. by Storm (Spring 2010) The Honors College sponsored students, faculty, and staff to present at the National Collegiate Honors Council in Washington, D.C. 

Twigg Wins Teaching Award (Spring 2010) Alumnus Michael Twigg won the Region 4 teacher of the year award.

William Monroe, Dean of The Honors College (Fall 2009) Dr. William Monroe was named dean of The Honors College in January 2009.