Skip to main content

Academic Advising

The staff members in Academic Services are invaluable educational advocates and your go-to source for student information, from orientation to commencement. They offer the following services:

  • Academic advising for undergraduate, graduate and transfer students
  • Assistance with petitions, such as a change of major, transfer course equivalence or an independent study
  • Assistance with scholarships
  • Study abroad guidance and referrals
  • Assistance with graduation logistics
  • Assistance coordinating paperwork for readmission from suspension

Students are asked to make appointments with the appropriate Academic Services staff member if they need assistance. Appointments are typically scheduled from 9 – 11:30 a.m. and 1:30 – 4 p.m., Monday through Friday

Meet Our Staff

Ki-Joon Back
 

  Dr. Ki-Joon Back
  Associate Dean for Research & Graduate Studies      
  kback@uh.edu 
  713.743.2530
  Room 235-C

Kevin Simon
 

  Kevin S. Simon
  Director of Undergraduate Studies
  ksimon@uh.edu 
  713.743.2459
  Room CSS 104-B

alisha-harrison
 

  Alisha Harrison
  Graduate Programs Manager
  atharrison@uh.edu 
  713.743.6537
  Room 235-C

Jeremy Dafoe
 

  Jeremy L. Dafoe
 
Undergraduate Advisor & Scholarship Coordinator
  jdafoe@uh.edu 
  713.743.3740
  Room CSS 104-D

Jeremy Dafoe
 

  Jennifer Glickman
 
 Director of International Programs
  jglickman@uh.edu  
  713.743.4790
  Room 235-D

Dawn Deurell
 

  Dawn A. Deurell
 
Undergraduate Advisor
  dadeurell@uh.edu 
  713.743.0465
  Room CSS 104-C

  

Tara Soma   Tara Soma
 
 Undergraduate Advising Assistant
  tsoma@uh.edu  
  713.743.6159
  Room CSS 104