Skip to main content

Our Team

The Advancing Community Engagement and Service Institute is a university-wide institute that reports to the Office of the Provost. Meet the leadership team:

headshot-mcclellan-anne.jpg Anne McClellan
Co-founder and co-director
Email: amcclellan@uh.edu

Dr. Anne McClellan serves as executive director for growth and innovation and research faculty at the University of Houston College of Education. Her work focuses on developing and funding new initiatives, community engagement and informing educational policy. Before joining the College, McClellan was the director of Middle School Matters at the George W. Bush Institute. The founding principal of the first early college high school in Houston, she later served as vice president for growth at YES Prep, a network of Houston-based public charter schools.
jschwartz7.png Jonathan Schwartz
Co-founder and co-director
Email: schwartzj@uhd.edu

Dr. Jonathan Schwartz served as associate dean for graduate studies at the University of Houston College of Education before becoming dean of the University of Houston-Downtown College of Public Service in August 2019. He previously worked at New Mexico State University as associate dean of research at the College of Education and as chair of the Counseling and Educational Psychology Department. He is the past president of Division 51, Psychology of Men and Masculinity, of the American Psychological Association; past chair of the Division 17 Prevention Section; and executive board member of the Council of Counseling Psychology Training Programs. He is the recent recipient of a lifetime achievement award from the APA Prevention Section.
  Sarah Fard
Program Director
Email: sfard2@uh.edu

Sarah Fard is the program director for the Advancing Community Engagement and Service Institute. She is a dedicated higher education professional with more than six years of experience in program development and management at the University of Houston. Fard is committed to the University’s initiative to develop a more inclusive campus that enhances diversity and expands access for all.
  Jasmine Payton
Program Manager
Email: jepayton@uh.edu

Jasmine Payton joined the University of Houston in fall 2017 to manage the Cougar Literacy Corps-AmeriCorps program in the ACES Institute. She brings with her invaluable experience in volunteer coordination, community outreach and public service. She has a passion and dedication for service to the community and improving the quality of life of the residents within it.

Liaisons

Committed to collaboration, the ACES Institute works with representatives from different UH colleges, departments and administrative offices who serve as liaisons.

Graduate College of Social Work

Sheara Williams Jennings, Associate Professor & Program Director
swilliams3@uh.edu

College of Nursing

Kathleen Reeve, Associate Dean, MSN Program Director, Clinical Professor
kdreeve@uh.edu

College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Andrew Hamilton, Associate Dean for Student Success
ahamilton@uh.edu

College of Technology

Consuelo Luisa Waight, Associate Professor
cwaight@uh.edu

College of Pharmacy

Marc Fleming, Assistant Professor
mlflemi2@uh.edu

School of Art

Rex Koontz, Professor & Director
rkoontz@uh.edu

College of Architecture

Patrick Peters, Director
ppeters@uh.edu

Office of the Provost

Erika Henderson, Assistant Provost
ejhenderson@uh.edu

College of Optometry

Pat Segu, Regional Director of Houston Community Based External Clinics, Clinical Associate Professor
psegu@uh.edu

College of Engineering

Jerrod Henderson, Instructional Assistant Professor
jahenderson5@uh.edu

College of Medicine

David Buck, Associate Dean of Community Health
dsbuck@uh.edu

The Honors College

Karen Weber, Faculty Assistant Dean, Co-Curricular Programs
kweber@uh.edu

Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management

Cristian Morosan, Associate Professor
cmorosan@uh.edu

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

Martha Dunkelberger, Instructional Associate Professor and Undergraduate Coordintor
mdunk@uh.edu

Bauer College of Business

Jamie Belinne, Assistant Dean
jbelinne@uh.edu

College of Education

Conra Gist, Associate Professor
cgist@uh.edu

CLASS – African American Studies

Kevin Thompson, Program Manager
kbthompson@uh.edu

Law Center

Christopher D. Heard, Clinical Assistant Professor
cdheard@uh.edu

If you are a UH faculty or staff member interested in becoming an ACES Institute college liaison, please contact Sarah Fard at sfard2@uh.edu.