Undergraduate Enrollment Limits
The undergraduate enrollment limit applies to students who are Texas state residents and are enrolled for the first time in a Texas public higher education institution in the Fall semester of 1999 or thereafter. For students first enrolling Fall 1999 through Summer 2006, the enrollment cap is 45 hours; and for students first enrolling Fall 2006 or after, the enrollment cap is 30 hours.
Such students are entitled to pay the Texas resident tuition rate for only the number of hours required to complete a degree in their approved major plus the cap allowance (45 hours or 30 hours). Students who have not chosen a major are considered, under Texas law, to have degree requirements of 120 hours. Courses attempted at any public Texas institution count toward the limit for each student. Attempted hours are calculated for courses in which a student is enrolled on the Official Reporting Day (ORD) (typically twelfth class day or 4th class day in summer), not by the courses in which a student receives a grade (passing, failing, or W). When students to whom this law applies register for courses that exceed this limit, they will be charged a premium rate of $100 per credit hour additional to their in-state rate.
If you stop attending a class with the intent to drop, be sure you drop on or before the Official Reporting Day (ORD) or these hours will count toward your in-state-tuition limit. Please see your academic advisor for more information or if you have any questions about this policy.
For more information, please visit www.uh.edu/provost/stu/stu_enrollcapqs.html.
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Rules (under Chapter 13) authorizes institutions to charge out-of-state tuition for students who enroll in a course for the third or more time,
Students may be charged for semester credit hours or contact hours attempted in any course, other than a non-degree-credit developmental course, containing the same content for a third or more times at their institutions since Fall Semester 2002. Attempted hours are calculated for courses in which a student is enrolled on the twelfth day (fourth class day in summer), not by the courses in which a student receives a grade (passing, failing, or W),
Semester credit hours or contact hours attempted by students for the following types of course work are exempt from the provisions of this section:
(1) thesis and dissertation courses.
(2) courses that may be repeated for credit because they involve different or more advanced content each time they are taken, including but not limited to, individual music lessons, Workforce Education Course Manual Special Topics courses (when the topic changes), theater practicum, music performance, ensembles, certain physical education and kinesiology courses, and studio art.
(3) independent study courses,
(4) special topics and seminar courses.
If you stop attending a class with the intent to drop, be sure you drop on or before the twelfth class day (fourth in summer) or these courses will count toward your two attempts. For more information, please visit www.uh.edu/provost/stu/stu_threepeatqs.html.