About Us - University of Houston
Skip to main content


The Center for Student Media formed in Fall 2013 to provide comprehensive advisory and financial support to the university’s student-run media: The Daily Cougar newspaper, CoogTV and COOG Radio.

Part of the Student Life portfolio in the Division of Student Affairs, the CSM is concerned with the development of students, focusing on critical thinking, leadership, ethics, collaboration, intercultural competence, goal-setting and ultimately, degree attainment. While our students are engaged in producing and promoting media channels and content, our goal is to ensure they are learning to become better thinkers and leaders in the process.

The second goal of the CSM is to manage the revenue-generating activities — advertising and media services — that can be used to grow our student media programs and provide richer experiences to the students involved.


Grounded in professional ethics and best practices, the Center for Student Media supports and empowers student-driven expression, publishing and broadcasting.


The Center for Student Media aspires to be a cutting-edge multi-platform laboratory that prepares collaborative, innovative and creative students for real-world leadership.


  • Lawrence Daniel


  • Christopher Walker

    Assistant Director, Media Services and Fee-Funded Organizations

  • Glissette Santana

    Activities Coordinator

  • Leona Davis

    Office Coordinator

Advisory Committee

  • The Student Media Advisory Committee is charged with monitoring and advising the CSM and the media organizations under it. One of its primary responsibilities is to appoint the top student leader of each media organization and ensure those leaders fulfill their designated role.

    The SMAC meets regularly to monitor the activities of student media and to provide a channel for feedback from academic, professional and community stakeholders. The committee includes three voting seats that are open to the student body and appointed by the Student Government Association. This committee adheres to the Student Media Advisory Committee Bylaws.

  • Voting Members
    Sam Khan Jr. Professional representative
    Adam Coleman Professional representative
    TBD Professional representative
    Alex Barboza CoogTV representative
    Alana Howard The Cougar representative
    Nahemia Tekleab Coog Radio representative
    Peter Hatchell SGA representative
    Roya Karim SGA representative
    TBD SGA representative
  • Ex-officio 
    Keith Kowalka Assistant Vice President, DSAES
    Lawrence Daniel Director, DSAES IT Services and Student Media
    Chris Walker Assistant Director, Media Services & Fee-Funded Organizations, CSM
    Glissette Santana Activities Coordinator, CSM
    Jasmine Davis Editor in Chief, The Cougar
    Kiyan Badkoubeh Executive Producer, CoogTV
    Aarik Charles Station Director, Coog Radio
    Ashley N. Brown Staff Council
    Mary Manning Faculty Senate
    Dr. Temple Northup School of Communication