Choose an item above to learn more.

Orientation

Organization Orientation is required for all student organizations. In this session, we will discuss all of the registration requirements for organizations, applicable policies and procedures, navigating Get Involved, event registration, and resources for RSOs across campus. This is the ideal starting place for organizations to gain the most information on how to complete the registration process!

Two of the top three officers must attend this session.
*attendance is verified by each person signing into the session

Organization Orientation Dates

Day Date Time Location
Mon 4/02/18 6:00pm Downtown
Tue 4/03/18 3:00pm Space City
Wed 4/04/18 1:00pm Downtown
Mon 4/09/18 1:00pm Skyline
Tue 4/10/18 11:00am Skyline
Wed 4/11/18 6:00pm Heights
Tue 4/17/18 12:00pm Bayou City
Fri 4/20/18 1:00pm Bayou City
Mon 4/23/18 3:00pm Bayou City
Wed 4/25/18 6:00pm Space City
Mon 4/30/18 6:00pm Downtown
Wed 5/02/18 2:00pm Space City
Thurs 5/10/18 3:00pm Space City
Thu 5/17/18 6:00pm Space City
Thu 5/24/18 4:00pm Space City
Tue 8/07/18 2:00pm Bayou City
Tue 8/21/18 3:00pm Multipurpose Room

All rooms are in the Student Center South

Organization Registration Application

The Registration Application is necessary to complete for all student organization types.  This application will give the Center for Student Involvement information on who are the officers in each organization, constitution and bylaws, and advisor acknowledgement for each organization. We also are able to determine who completed each step for each organization.

Please be sure to complete the application in order to considered for approval as an organization.

To access the application:

  • Log into Get Involved
  • Click Organizations
  • Scroll to the bottom where it says "Register An Organization"
  • Click and select "Register a New Organization"

Online Risk Management

Per State of Texas House Bill 2639/Senate Bill 1138, enacted by the 80th Texas Legislature, all registered student organizations at the University of Houston attend an annual Risk Management Education program. The Center for Student Involvement has created an online risk management program to satisfy this requirement. The program provides students with information about alcohol and drug use and prevention, sexual harassment and sexual assault prevention and response, fire and fire arm safety, food safety, and services for students with disabilities.

This session is available on Blackboard, and students are enrolled once they register using the form below. Two of the top three officers must complete this training.

Exploring Diversity for Student Leaders

Exploring Diversity is a session that adds value to the University of Houston by helping to ensure that students in RSOs are able to engage and work within our diverse university setting. Through Exploring Diversity, students are also able to identify ways to create a more inclusive campus environment through themselves and their student organizations. Students who attend Exploring Diversity are able to gain skills in many areas including:

  • having a clear understanding of diversity, inclusion, and culture
  • identifying and discuss their personal cultural identities
  • explaining and articulating attributes with others’ cultural identities

Two of the top three officers must attend this session.
*attendance is verified by each person signing into the session

Each Exploring Diversity Session is 90 minutes.
Pre-registration for this session REQUIRED. *Maximum of 50 people per session.

Day Date Time Location
Tuesday March 20, 2018 4:00 – 5:30pm Bayou City Room
Wednesday March 28, 2018 4:00 – 5:30pm Bayou City Room
Thursday March 29, 2018 5:00 – 6:30pm Bayou City Room
Tuesday April 3, 2018 5:00 – 6:30pm Bayou City Room
Thursday April 5, 2018 5:00 – 6:30pm Downtown Room
Thursday April 5, 2018 5:00 – 6:30pm Bayou City Room
Monday April 9, 2018 3:00 – 4:30pm Space City Room
Monday April 16, 2018 5:00 – 6:30pm Downtown Room
Tuesday April 17, 2018 4:00 – 5:30pm Bayou City Room
Thursday April 19, 2018 5:00 – 6:30pm Space City Room
Tuesday April 24, 2018 4:00 – 5:50pm Space City Room
Tuesday April 24, 2018 4:00 – 5:50pm Bayou City Room
Thursday April 26, 2018 2:00 – 3:30pm Senate Chamber Room
Thursday April 26, 2018 2:00 – 3:30pm Bayou City Room
Monday April 30, 2018 4:00 – 5:30pm Space City Room
Thursday May 3, 2018 12:00 – 1:30pm Bayou City Room
Monday May 7, 2018 4:00 – 5:30pm Downtown Room
Monday May 7, 2018 4:00 – 5:30pm Senate Chamber Room
Wednesday May 9, 2018 5:00 – 6:30pm Skyline Room
Wednesday May 9, 2018 5:00 – 6:30pm Space City Room
Friday May 11, 2018 2:00 – 3:30pm Bayou City Room
Thursday May 17, 2018 4:00 – 5:30pm Downtown Room
Wednesday August 15, 2018 3:00 – 4:30pm Space City
Friday September 7, 2018 12:00 – 1:30pm Space City

Students wishing to create a NEW organization must first contact the Cougar Involvement Ambassadors to arrange a new organization consultation. This is in addition to completing the four step organization registration process.

Please note that TWO of the TOP THREE officers from your organization should complete these trainings.

Students are required to PRE-REGISTER to attend either of these trainings (click the step you wish to complete and pre-register via the link).

Questions & Answers

Have questions about the process? Check out our list of frequently asked questions. If you have any additional questions, you can email us at csi@uh.edu.

Required Clauses
these statements must be in your constitution

Anti-Hazing Clause
This organization will not initiate, participate in, or be witness to any act that inflicts or intends to inflict physical or mental harm or discomfort or which may demean, disgrace, or degrade any person, regardless of location, intent, or consent of participant(s).

Non-Discrimination Clause
As a Registered Student Organization at the University of Houston we adhere to the University of Houston’s Non-Discrimination Policy. The University of Houston is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity institution. The university provides equal treatment and opportunity to all persons without regard to race, color, religion, national origin, sex, age, genetic information, disability, or veteran status except where such distinction is required by law. Additionally, the System prohibits discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression.