Workshops

We offer custom workshops and traning sessions on a one-on-one or departmental basis as well as a host of trainings in Blackboard essentials. Please read below about scheduling custom workshops or registering for one of our Blackboard training sessions. If there is an area of interest that you do not see listed below, please reach out to us so that we may work with you or your department to craft a workshop or training to suit your needs.

Custom Workshops: Individual or Department

To plan your workshop today, please Get in touch.

classidt@uh.edu 713.743.3918


2014-2015 Blackboard Learn Training

Get acquainted with the tools and features of Blackboard Learn 9.1. In this orientation training, we will focus on navigation, set-up of the most commonly used tools, and review the Grade Center (grade book).

If you sign up for a training session and can't attend, please call 713.743.3918 or email classidt@uh.edu at least 24 hours in advance. Thank you for your cooperation.

DateTimeLocationRegisterTopic
Thursday, August 14 2:00-3:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Course Content
Wednesday, August 20 10:00-11:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! General Introduction
Thursday, August 21 10:00-11:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Course Content
Tuesday, August 26 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Wednesday, August 27 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Course Content
Wednesday, September 3, 2:00-3:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! General Introduction
Friday, September 5 2:00-3:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Thursday, September 11 9:00-10:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Course Content
Friday, September 12 9:00-10:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! General Introduction
Tuesday, September 16 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Course Content
Thursday, September 18 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! General Introduction
Friday, September 19 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Monday, September 22 10:00-11:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Grade Center
Wednesday, September 24 10:00-11:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Grade Center
Thursday, September 25 10:00-11:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Tuesday, September 30 2:00-3:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Assessment & Set
Wednesday, October 1 2:00-3:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Thursday, October 2 2:00-3:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Assessment & Set
Monday, October 6 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Tuesday, October 7 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Grade Center
Friday,    October 10 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Assessment & Set
Tuesday, October 14 2:00-3:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Exams in Respond
Thursday, October 16 2:00-3:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Turnitin
Thursday, October 23 10:00-11:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Friday,    October 24, 10:00-11:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Exams in Respond
Tuesday, October 28, 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Turnitin
Thursday, October 30 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Exams in Respond
Monday, November 3 10:00-11:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Wednesday, November 5 10:00-11:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Grade Center
Friday, November 7 10:00-11:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Exams in Respond
Tuesday, November 11 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Assessment & Set
Thursday, November 13 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Turnitin
Friday, November 14 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Monday, November 17 2:00-3:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Grade Center
Tuesday, November 18 2:00-3:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Thursday, November 20 2:00-3:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Assessment & Set
Tuesday, December 2 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Grade Center
Thursday, December 4 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Exams in Respond
Friday, December 5 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Tuesday, December 9 2:00-3:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Wednesday, December 10 10:00-11:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Assessment & Set
Friday, December 12 9:00-10:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Monday, December 15 10:00-11:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Tuesday, December 16 1:00-2:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Wednesday, December 17 9:00-10:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab
Thursday, December 18 2:00-3:00 McElhinney Hall: Room 343 Register! Open Lab

Overview of Blackboard Training Modules

General Introduction

  • Get acquainted with the tools and features
  • Set-up the most commonly used tools
  • Become familiar with the navigation
  • Upload a syllabus
  • Make the course available

Course Content

  • Create a file
  • Create a learning module
  • Upload files and images
  • Create course links
  • Organize course content
  • Customize/personalize the course

Creating and Managing the BlackBoard Learn Grade Center

  • Setting up the grade center
  • Create, manage, and edit Grade Columns
  • Entering grades
  • Calculate grades

Creating and Managing Assessments

  • Types of Assessments
  • Creating in a course area
  • Importing and exporting assessments
  • Editing Assessments
  • Releasing exams