Skip to main content

Current Graduate Students

Name

Fields / 
Dissertation topic

Advisors

 

Quentin Adams

adamsquentin15@yahoo.com

Early Modern England, Religious History and Religious Minorities, Medieval Church, Ottoman Empire

"Popular Laudianism? The Practice, Reception and Impact of English Arminianism in the Province of York, 1618-1640"

Catherine Patterson

Sally Vaughn

Todd Romero

 

 

Anna Marie Anderson

amanderson.uh@gmail.com

20th Century U.S., war and society, WWII prisoners of war, racism and anti-Semitism

Brothers in Arms? Racism and Anti-Semitism in the Prisoner of War Camps of World War II Europe

Nancy Beck Young

Sarah Fishman

Leandra Zarnow, Linda Reed

William Taylor

 

Ivan Arteaga

Eric Boutin-Bloomberg

Eric Boutin-Bloomberg

enboutin-bloomberg@uh.edu

Website

North American West, U.S.-Canada Borderlands, Race, Nineteenth Century

 

Mark Goldberg

 

 

 

 

Heather Butina-Sutton

hbutina-sutton@uh.edu

Atlantic World, Brazil, women and gender, religion, slavery

Philip Howard

 

Ramiro Contreras

rcontreras5@uh.edu

Website

20th Century U.S., Mexican American Agency, Houston

H-Town Mexicanas: Ethnic Mexican Women in Houston From 1900-1960

Guadalupe San Miguel

Nancy Young

Cynthia Orozco

Thomas Doser

Thomas Doser

tcdoser@uh.edu

Modern U.S., urban/suburban history, environmental history, race and ethnicity, immigration, public history

 

Martin Melosi

Monica Perales

 

 

Lindsay Drane

Lindsay Drane

lndrane@uh.edu

Website

United States, 20th Century Political History, Food Studies, Women and Gender History, Oral History

Too Poor To Eat: A Socio-Political History of Food Stamps in the United States, 1964-1996

Nancy Beck Young

Leandra Zarnow

Monica Perales

James Schafer

 

Jonathan Fairchild

jrfairchild@uh.edu

Website

Native American Studies, 19th century U.S., Borderlands, Race and Ethnicity, Oral History

They Intend to Conduct Us Out of Their Country: The Choctaw Diaspora

Todd Romero

Raúl Ramos

Mark Goldberg

Matthew Finnie

Matthew Thomas Finnie

mtfinnie@uh.edu

Website

Ancient Mediterranean and African history, Anicent Greek religious history, Pre-Islamic Trans-Saharan environmental history, World history pedagogy and theory

The Dry Bones Speak: Hero Cult and the Staging of Heroes in Ancient Athens

Frank Holt

Kristina Neumann

Kairn Klieman

Casey Dué Hackney

Gary Girod

Gary Girod

ggirod@uh.edu

Modern Britain, Modern France, labor history, women and gender, social history, WWI

The Rise of the Information State: Domestic Surveillance in Britain and France during World War I

Karl Ittman

Sarah Fishman

 

 

 

Kimberly R. Goodling

 

Francesca Guerri

 

Patrick Higgins

Derek Ide

Derek Ide

daide@uh.edu

Website

Modern Arab World, Palestine, Egypt, transnational political movements

 

Abdel Razzaq Takriti

 

 

 

 

Kevin Johnson

Alex La Rotta

Alex La Rotta

alarotta@uh.edu

Website

Modern U.S., cultural, ethno-racial, music, public history

Young, Gifted, and Brown: The History of San Antonio's West Side Sound

Monica Perales and Mark Goldberg (co-advisors)

Raúl Ramos

Oliver Wang

Gary Hartman

 

Karla A. Lira

kalira@uh.edu

Website

United States-Mexico Borderlands, Great Depression, 20th Century U.S., Social History

Mark Goldberg

 

Taylor Mankin

 

Eric McDonald

ejmcdonald2@uh.edu

Atlantic World, Slavery, Violence, early-modern Caribbean

Violent Identities: Elite Masculinity and Anglo-American Slavery in Seventeenth Century Barbados

Todd Romero

Catherine Patterson

Matthew Clavin

 

Ela Miljkovic

Ela Miljkovic

emiljkovic@uh.edu

Latin America, Mexico, environmental history, urban studies, history of technology and science, cultural history, oral history

The Air Particles We Breathe: The Rise of Polluted Mexico City and its Transborder Effects

John Hart

Kristin Wintersteen

Monica Perales

Emily Wakild

 

Curtis C. Mooney

ccmooney@uh.edu

Website

U. S. History, History of Medicine

From Moral to Immoral Treatment: The Failure to Fund the Treatment for the Seriously Mentally Ill in Texas and the Nation 1861-2018

Hannah Decker

James Schafer

Gianncarlo Muschi

Gianncarlo Muschi

gmmuschihoyos@uh.edu

Immigration, Latin America, U.S. History, Labor History, Cultural Studies

From Factory Workers to Owners: Informality, Entrepreneurship, and the Development of the Peruvian Community of Paterson, New Jersey

Natalia Milanesio

José Angel Hernández

Kristin Wintersteen

 

Mallory Neil

Mallory Neil

mneil@uh.edu

Great Britain, Edwardian society, Franco-British relations, world's fairs, women and gender

Exhibiting 1908: Politics and Society of Twentieth-Century Britain at the Franco-British Exhibition

Karl Ittman

Sarah Fishman

Todd Romero

 

 

Xandria Outing

xandria.outing@gmail.com

17th Century to Modern Europe. Royal Familes, Modern England, Women's history

Sarah Fishman

 

Alex Paul

Alex Paul

aypaul@uh.edu

Modern U.S. history with a focus on First World War social and cultural histories.

 

James Schafer

 

 

 

 

Timothy Quevillon

trquevillon@uh.edu

Modern U.S., race/ethnicity/immigration, American Jewish history, Israel/Palestine

“Jabotinsky and Postcolonial Identity in Howard Beach and Houston: The Kahana Family and Diverging Applications of Revisionist Zionism to the American Racial Struggles of the 1960s”

Mark Goldberg/Leandra Zarnow

Abdel Razzaq Takriti

Tony Michels

 

Tara Sewell-Lasater

Tara Sewell-Lasater

tlsewell@uh.edu

Website

Ptolemaic Egypt, Queens, and Numismatics; Greco-Roman World; Gender in Antiquity

Becoming Kleopatra: Ptolemaic Royal Marriage, Incest, and the Path to Female Rule

Frank Holt

Kristina Neumann

Francesca Behr

Elizabeth Carney

 

Patrick Sheffield

pjsheffield@uh.edu

Modern Britain, Modern Europe, technological and environmental history, urban studies, business history

Imperial Oil and Suburban Science: The Sunbury Research Station and the growth of high-tech industry in the Thames Valley, 1917-1967

Karl Ittman

Martin Melosi

Sarah Fishman

Tyler Priest

 

Steve Sherman

 

Joseph Thompson

Timothy Vale

Timothy Vale

tevale73@gmail.com

20th Century U.S., history of American Medicine, LGBT history

Crimson Legacy: AIDS Patients and Gay Male Sexuality in America Since 1980 (title still in progress)

James Schafer

Eric Walther

Leandra Zarnow

 

Darah Vann

Darah Vann

dpvann@uh.edu

Women, Gender, and Sexuality; Ancient Greece, Roman Republic, Late Antiquity

Rape and Imperialism: Rome's Violent Conquest of Land and Bodies

Frank Holt

Kristina Neumann

 

 

 

Ezell Wilson

 

Alberto Wilson III

alberto.wilson3@gmail.com

Website

20th century US, Latino/a, US-Mexico Borderlands, US and the World

Investigation of the shared social and cultural life of El Paso and Ciudad Juárez during the mid twentieth century 

Monica Perales

Raúl Ramos

Abdel Razzaq Takriti