Skip to main content


With two months left, who will win the top spots in Texas government on November 4, 2014?
Will it be Governor Abbott or Governor Davis? 
Lieutenant Governor Patrick or Lieutenant Governor Van de Putte?

Please join the University of Houston Hobby Center for Public Policy for a luncheon featuring the Quorum Report’s founder and editor Harvey Kronberg on Thursday, September 4.


Harvey Kronberg’s Quorum Report is a non-partisan online publication covering state politics and government from an insider's perspective.  Kronberg is also the founder of the Texas Energy Report, which focuses on the intersection of government, politics and energy.  A political analyst for Time Warner Cable News and quoted in publications such as the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Congressional Quarterly and the Houston Chronicle, Texas Monthly has described Harvey Kronberg as one of the 25 most powerful individuals in Texas politics. Read his bio.

All luncheon proceeds benefit the 2015 Hobby Fellows program. Hobby Fellows offers University of Houston undergraduate students the opportunity to work as full-time interns in the Texas Capitol during regular legislative sessions. Assigned to state elected officials, Hobby Fellows gain knowledge of the legislative process by observation, participation, research and writing. Combining supervised academic study with practical training allows the Fellows to earn upper level credit hours in political science while receiving a stipend. More information about Hobby Fellows is found at


2013 Hobby Fellows

Location & Time

The luncheon will be held at the Moores Opera House at the University of Houston. Registration will begin at 11:00 am, and the luncheon starts at noon. Download the registration form.


Maggie Manzano
713 743 3970

We hope you will join us for a fun and informative event with Harvey Kronberg while helping us send exceptional UH students to work in the next legislative session with a new governor and lieutenant governor!

Hobby Leadership Award

The Inaugural Hobby Leadership Award honored Alex Obregon and Darren Chambers.  Read more about the award.