Richard Murray Scholarship

The Richard Murray Endowed Scholarship was established in 2008 for the purpose of honoring Dr. Richard Murray's service to the Houston community and 40 years of teaching and research at the University of Houston.   

An Overview of Dr. Murray's Accomplishments

  • Taught political science at UH since 1966
  • Founded the Hobby Center for Public Policy (HCPP) in 1981 with a small group of UH faculty

  • Established the HCPP’s polling operations in 1981

  • Co-authored Pro-Growth Politics Change and Governance in Houston (1991)

  • Served as director of the HCPP from 1996-2006

  • Created the HCPP’s Houston Government Internship Program in 1996

  • Launched the computer assisted survey system in the Survey Research Institute in 2000

  • Awarded the Bob Lanier Chair in Urban Public Policy in 2004 

Richard Murray at City Hall

From left to right: Mrs. Elyse Lanier, Mayor Bob Lanier, Dr. Richard Murray, and Debbie Hartman-Murray

The Award 

The Richard Murray Endowed Scholarship will be awarded to an outstanding political science undergraduate student who shares a passion for politics and policy, has a strong academic commitment and demonstrates a commitment to public service. A $1250.00 award will be presented every year. Private funds were raised to endow this scholarship.   


Stephanie Brooks, Political Science and Sociology major
State Department, Lima, Peru, fall 2013

Sarah Aimadeddine, Political Science and Economics major
Hobby Fellow (Representative Jim Murphy), spring 2013

Miriah Soliz, Political Science major
University of Houston Student Government Executive Director, August 2012-May 2013 

Mathew Mendoza, Political Science major
Phi Alpha Delta, Vice-President Elect 2013-2014 

Amir Tavakkoli, Political Science and Sociology major
Shami Farouk Campaign for Texas Governor, spring 2010 

Taylor Kilroy, Political Science and Public Relations major
City Councilmember Pam Holm, fall 2009  

Eligibility Criteria 

The scholarship recipient(s) will be determined by the Richard Murray Scholarship Committee comprised of political science faculty and Hobby Center for Public Policy representatives. Criteria includes the following:

  • Scholarship applicant’s experience inside and outside of the classroom should show a passion for politics and policy.
  • Scholarship applicant should have a strong academic commitment and demonstrated dedication to public service.
  • Scholarship applicant must exhibit leadership ability through campus and/or community activities.
  • Scholarship applicant must have a major in political science declared in the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences.
  • Scholarship applicant must be a full-time undergraduate student in good academic standing at the University of Houston. 
  • Scholarship applicant must have completed a minimum of 60 semester credit hours by the conclusion of Spring 2013.  Incoming transfer students must have at least 30 hours of coursework completed at UH. 
  • Scholarship applicant is expected to complete satisfactorily at least 75% of the enrolled semester hours for each semester in which the scholarship is applied. 
  • A cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 is required for eligibility. 
  • Scholarship recipient may accept other scholarships and grants in conjunction with the Richard Murray Endowed Scholarship.
  • Funds can be used to cover expenses for tuition, books, fees, and/or supplies for the coming academic semester. Any expenses of a recipient in excess of the amount deposited must be borne by the student. 


Download the application for spring 2015.  The application deadline is April 10.  Late applications will not be accepted.