Skip to main content

News Archive

UHCWP alumna Lacy Johnson’s The Other Side named a finalist for the Dayton Peace Prize

UHCWP Professor Chitra Divakaruni’s novel Oleander Girl wins the prestigious Scanno Award

Showtime acquires rights to UHCWP Professor Mat Johnson’s novel Loving as a potential comedy series

UHCWP Professor Chitra Divakaruni named one of the 20 most influential global Indian women by The Economic Times

UHCWP alumna Nicky Beer awarded 2016 Mary Wood Fellowship

UHCWP alumnus David Stuart Maclean’s The Answer to the Riddle is Me named Best Memoir/Biography in the Midwest by the Society of Midland Authors

UHCWP alumnus Jericho Brown’s The New Testament wins Anisfield-Wolf Book Award and is named a finalist for the Lambda Literary Awards

UHCWP alumna Lacy M. Johnson's The Other Side nominated for a 2015 Edgar Award and shortlisted for a 2015 CLMP Firecracker Award

UHCWP PhD candidate Elizabeth Lyons wins the 2015 Alice James Award, for her manuscript, Death Roll

UHCWP alumna Lacy M. Johnson's The Other Side named a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award

UHCWP alums Barbara Duffey, Jessica Greenbaum, and Sean Hill awarded 2015 National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowships

UHCWP alumna Lacy Johnson's The Other Side named one of the 20 best books of 2014 by Houston Chronicle

UHCWP alumna Nina McConigley's Cowboys and East Indians named one of O Magazine's 'best of the best' of award-winning books of 2014

UHCWP alumna Lacy Johnson named one of Houston's 50 Most Fascinating People by Houston Chronicle

UHCWP Professor Antonya Nelson’s story “Primum Non Nocere” published in The New Yorker

UHCWP alumnus Samuel Amadon’s poem “Poem For The Opening Of The Hamilton Fish Park Pool, 1936” published  in The New Yorker

UHCWP alumnus Joshua Rivkin’s poem “Lifeguard” published in The New Yorker

UHCWP alumna Nina McConigley wins the 2014 High Plains Book Award for best story collection

UHCWP alumni Jericho Brown’s The New Testament and Lacy Johnson’s The Other Side each named one of 2014's best books by Library Journal

UHCWP alumnus Paul Otremba is profiled as one of six young artists who are reshaping Houston’s Art Scene in the October 2014 issue of Houstonia Magazine

UHCWP alumna Hannah Gamble is awarded a 2014 Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowships

Poet and visual scholar Roberto Tejada joins the Creative Writing Program as the Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished Professor of English and Creative Writing

Creative Writing Program welcomes UHCWP alumna Audrey Colombe as Visiting Associate Professor in English and Creative Writing

UHCWP alumna Nina McConigley is awarded the PEN/American Open Book Award

UHCWP alumnus Andrew Brininstool is awarded a 2014 National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship in Prose

UHCWP alumna Emily Fox Gordon is awarded a 2014 Guggenheim Fellowship

UHCWP alumnus Ed Porter is awarded a Wallace Stegner Fellowship

UHCWP alumna Kate Schmidt’s Singing Bones wins the Zone 3 Press 2013 Creative Nonfiction Book Award

Being Flynn: Life as a Movie

Russel Swensen wins the Spring 2011 Black River Chapbook Competition for Santa Ana

Entire Houston area asked to read One Amazing Thing

UH Student Christine Ha Cooks Her Way to FOX TV's 'MasterChef" Title

UHCWP Professor Mat Johnson awarded Longwood's Dos Passos Prize

UHCWP alumna Tiphanie Yanique Selected by the National Book Foundation as one of the "Top 5 Under 35" Fiction Writers

UHCWP alumnus Glenn Shaheen wins Agnes Lynn Starrett Prize

Bob Phillips wins Bronze Metal in Poetry for Now and Then: New and Selected Poems at the Independent Publisher Book Awards, 2010

UHCWP Professor Alex Parsons awarded a 2009-2010 UH Teaching Excellence Award, one of the highest awards bestowed by the University of Houston

UHCWP alumnus David MacLean reads on This American Life

UHCWP alumnus Eric Ekstrand wins 2009 Ruth Lilly Poetry Fellowship

UHCWP PhD candidate Samuel Amadon wins the 2010 Iowa Poetry Prize

UHCWP PhD candidate and Soros Fellowship winner Janine Joseph on KUHF's UH Moment

UHCWP alumna Tiphanie Yanique wins Rona Jaffe Prize

UHCWP alumna Lauren Berry wins National Poetry Series award

UHCWP Professor Antonya Nelson named 2009 USA Simon Fellow in Literature

UHCWP Professor Mat Johnson named 2007 USA James Baldwin Fellow in Literature

UHCWP alumna Farnoosh Fathi wins 2011 Ruth Lilly Poetry Fellowship

UHCWP alumna Anna Journey is awarded a 2011 National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship in Poetry

UHCWP alumnus Hayan Charara is awarded a 2009 National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship in Poetry

UHCWP alumnus Jason Koo is awarded a 2009 National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship in Poetry