UHCWP alumnus David Stuart Maclean’s The Answer to the Riddle is Me named Best Memoir/Biography in the Midwest by the Society of Midland Authors.

UHCWP PhD candidate Elizabeth Lyons wins the 2015 Alice James Award for her manuscript, Death Roll.

UHCWP alumna Lacy M. Johnson's The Other Side named a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award.

UHCWP alums Barbara Duffey, Jessica Greenbaum, and Sean Hill awarded 2015 National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellowships.

UHCWP alumna Lacy Johnson's The Other Side named one of the 20 best books of 2014 by Houston Chronicle.

UHCWP alumna Nina McConigley's Cowboys and East Indians named one of O Magazine's 'best of the best' of award-winning books of 2014.

UHCWP alumna Lacy Johnson named one of Houston's 50 Most Fascinating People by Houston Chronicle.

UHCWP Professor Antonya Nelson’s story “Primum Non Nocere” published in The New Yorker.

UHCWP alumna Nina McConigley wins the 2014 High Plains Book Award for best story collection.

UHCWP alumni Jericho Brown’s The New Testament and Lacy Johnson’s The Other Side each named one of 2014's best books by Library Journal.

UHCWP alumnus Samuel Amadon’s poem “Poem For The Opening Of The Hamilton Fish Park Pool, 1936” published  in The New Yorker.

UHCWP alumnus Paul Otremba is profiled as one of six young artists who are reshaping Houston’s Art Scene in the October 2014 issue of Houstonia Magazine.

UHCWP alumna Hannah Gamble is awarded a 2014 Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowships.

UHCWP alumnus Joshua Rivkin’s poem “Lifeguard” published in The New Yorker.