Skip to main content


UHCWP Professor Chitra Divakaruni’s latest novel, Before We Visit the Goddess, published by Simon & Schuster

UHCWP Ph.D Student Martin Rock’s debut collection of poems, Residuum, published by CSU Poetry Center

UHCWP alumnus Christopher Bakken’s poem, “Sentence,” chosen for inclusion in Best American Poetry 2016

UHCWP alumna Analicia Sotelo’s poem “Death Wish” featured in The New Yorker

UHCWP alumnus Russel Swenson’s debut collection of poems, The Magic Kingdom, published by Black Lawrence Press

UHCWP alumna Analicia Sotelo wins the Disquiet International Prize for Poetry

UHCWP alumnus J. Bradford Hipps’ The Adventurist reviewed in the New York Times 

UHCWP alumnus Wayne Miller’s fourth book of poems, Post-, published by Milkweed Press

UHCWP alumna Janine Joseph’s debut collection of poems, Driving Without a License, published by Alice James Books

UHCWP alumnus J.  Bradford Hipps’ debut novel, The Adventurist, published by St. Martin’s Press

UHCWP alumna Joni Tevis wins Firecracker Award in Creative Non-Fiction for her book The World is on Fire

UHCWP alumnus Christopher Bakken’s third book of poems, Eternity & Oranges, published by Pitt Poetry Series

UHCWP alumna Emily Perez’s debut collection of poems, House of Sugar, House of Stone, published by Center for Literary Publishing

UHCWP alumnus James May awarded the Cecil Hemley Memorial Award by Poetry Society of America

UHCWP alumnus Glen Shaheen’s second collection of poems, Ennergy Corridor, published by the Pitt Poetry Series

UHCWP alumnus James May’s debut collection of poems, Unquiet Things, published by LSU Press

UHCWP alumna Jennifer Tseng’s novel, Mayumi and the Sea of Happiness, shortlisted for the PEN Robert W. Bingham prize for Debut Fiction

UHCWP alumna Katherine Center’s novel The Lost Husband optioned for a movie by Instant Pictures

UHCWP alumnus Gary Hawkins’s debut collection of poems, Worker, published by Main Street Rag

UHCWP alumna Jennifer Grotz awarded a 2016 National Endowment for the Arts Translation Fellowship.

UHCWP Professor Peter Turchi and UHCWP alumna Kimberly Meyer named finalists for the PEN Southwest Book Award in Creative Nonfiction.