Skip to main content

Faculty

All offices are in McElhinney Hall unless otherwise stated. If you are looking for your instructor and do not see them listed here, be sure to check our PhD student directory.

David Papell

David Papell
Ph.D., Columbia University
Department Chair and Joel W. Sailors Endowed Professor of Economics
International economics, Macroeconomics, Time series econometrics
dpapell@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3807 • Office: 201 D 
Website Download CV

John Antel

John Antel
Ph.D., University of California, LA
Professor
Labor economics
antel@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-2933 • Office: 320B
Download CV

Ruxandra Prodan Boul

Ruxandra Prodan Boul
Ph.D., University of Houston
Undergraduate Program Director, Instructional Associate Professor
International Finance, Time Series Econometrics, Macroeconomics
rprodan@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3836 • Office: 201 E
Website Download CV

Aimee Chin

Aimee Chin
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Professor
Labor, Development
achin@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3761 • Office: 221 B
Website Download CV

Steven Craig

Steven Craig
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Professor
Public economics, Public choice, Applied microeconometrics
scraig@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3812 • Office: 202 A
Website Download CV

German Cubas

German Cubas
Ph.D., University of Iowa
Assistant Professor
Macroeconomics and Economic Growth and Development
gcubasnorando@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3187  • Office: 202B
Website Download CV

Thomas DeGregori

Thomas DeGregori
Ph.D., University of Texas
Professor
Economic development; Technology; Science in economic change; African, Asian and Caribbean economic development
trdegreg@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3838 • Office: 209 D
Website Download CV

Willa Helterline Friedman

Willa Helterline Friedman
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Assistant Professor
Economic development, Health, Political Economy, Behavioral Economics
whfriedman@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-5620 • Office: 202C
Website Download CV

Paul Gregory

Paul Gregory
Ph.D., Harvard University
Professor, Cullen Distinguished Professor of Economics
Soviet economics, Transition economics, Economic history, Comparative economics, Economic demography, Energy economics
pgregory@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3828 • Office: 229 A
Forbes Blog Download CV

Polly Hardee

Polly Hardee
Ph.D., University of Houston
Instructional Assistant Professor
Money and Banking
phardee@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3810 • Office: 216 
Download CV

Chinhui Juhn

Chinhui Juhn
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Henry Graham Professor of Economics
Labor economics
cjuhn@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3823 • Office: 201 A
Website Download CV

Janet Kohlhase

Janet Kohlhase
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Professor
Urban economics, Regional economics, Environmental economics
jkohlhase@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3799 • Office: 201 B
Website

Elaine Liu

Elaine Liu
Ph.D., Princeton University
Associate Professor
Development, Health economics, Behavioral economics and Labor
emliu@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3861 • Office: 223 D
Website

Vikram Maheshri

Vikram Maheshri
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Assistant Professor
Applied Microeconomics, Urban Economics, Political Economy
vmaheshri@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3833 • Office: 221A
Website Download CV

Joel Melendez-Lugo

Joel Melendez-Lugo
PhD, University of Houston
Instructional Assistant Professor
Macroeconomics
jmelende@Central.UH.EDU • Phone:713-743-3824 • Office: 216

Christian Murray

Christian Murray
Ph.D., University of Washington
Associate Professor
Time series econometrics, Business cycle analysis, International finance
cjmurray@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3835 • Office: 211 D
Website Download CV

Radek Paluszynski

Radek Paluszynski
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Assistant Professor
International economics, Macroeconomics, Information economics
rpaluszynski@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3801 • Office: 221E
Website Download CV

Islam Rizvanoghlu

Islam Rizvanoghlu
Ph.D. Rice University
Instructional Assistant Professor
Macroeconomics, Energy Economics
irizvanoghlu@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-0479 • Office: 213
Website Download CV

Bent Sorensen

Bent Sorensen
Ph.D., University of Copenhagen
Professor, Lay Professor in International Economics, PhD Program Director
Macroeconomics, Econometrics
besorensen@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3841 • Office: 209 A
Website Download CV

Andrea Szabo

Andrea Szabó
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Assistant Professor
Industrial Organization, Development Economics
aszabo2@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3840 • Office: 209 B
Website Download CV

Rebecca Achee Thornton

Rebecca Achée Thornton
Ph.D., University of Houston
Director- MA Applied Economics Program, Instructional Associate Professor
Macroeconomics, Economic Growth
rthornton@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3820 • Office: 204
Download CV

Gergely Ujhelyi

Gergely Ujhelyi
Ph.D., Harvard University
Associate Professor
Public economics, Political economy, Applied theory, Development economics
gujhelyi@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3815 • Office: 223 C
Website Download CV

Ross vanWassenhove

Ross vanWassenhove
Ph.D., Rice University
Instructional Assistant Professor
rsvanwassenhove@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-0941 • Office: 220
Website

liliana

Liliana Varela
Ph.D., Paris School of Economics
Assistant Professor
International Economics, Macroeconomics, Finance, Growth, Time series econometrics
lvvarela@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-5640 • Office:211B
Website Download CV

Dietrich Vollrath

Dietrich Vollrath
Ph.D., Brown University
Associate Professor, Assistant Graduate Director and Director of PhD Admissions
Economic growth, Macroeconomics, Population economics, Agricultural economics
devollrath@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3806 • Office: 201 C
Website Download CV Econ Growth Blog

Fan Wang

Fan Wang
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Assistant Professor
Development Economics, Financial Development, Health Economics
fwang26@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-0329 • Office:223E
Website Download CV

Kei-Mu Yi

Kei-Mu Yi
Ph.D., University of Chicago
M.D. Anderson Professor of Economics
International economics, Macroeconomics
kyi3@central.uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3331 • Office:223E
Website Download CV

Natalia Zhivan

Natalia Zhivan 
Ph.D., Boston College 
Instructional Assistant Professor 
Health Economics, Aging, Applied Econometrics 
nazhivan@uh.edu  • Phone: 713-743-0505 • Office: 209 C 

Andy Zuppann

Andrew Zuppann
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Assistant Professor
Labor economics, Health economics
cazuppann@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3831 • Office: 221C
Website Download CV

Emeritus Faculty

Richard Bean
Ph.D., University of Washington
Professor Emeritus
Economic History
richardnbean@sbcglobal.net

Thomas Mayor
Ph.D., University of Maryland
Professor Emeritus
Law and economics
thmayor@sbcglobal.net

Roy Ruffin

Roy Ruffin
Ph.D., Northwestern University
Professor Emeritus
International economics, Price theory
rruffin@uh.edu
Download CV

Barton Smith

Barton Smith
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Professor Emeritus
Urban economics
bartsmith@aol.com

Henry Steele

Henry Steele
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Professor Emeritus
International economics, Price theory

Visiting Faculty, Lecturers, and Fellowships Directory

William Alexander

William Alexander
Lecturer
walexander@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-4269 • Office: Classroom and Business Building: 302C CBB
Download CV

Ed Hirs

Ed Hirs
CFA; MA, MBA, Yale University
Lecturer
Finance, Energy Economics
ehirs@central.uh.edu • Phone: 713-961-9661
Download CV