Department of Economics
University of Houston
204 McElhinney Hall
Houston, TX 77204-5019
Phone: (713) 743-3800
Fax: (713) 743-3798

Faculty Directory

 

All offices are in McElhinney Hall unless otherwise stated. If you are looking for your instructor and do not see them listed here, be sure to check our graduate student and staff directory.

David Papell

David Papell
Ph.D., Columbia University
Department Chair, Economics
Joel W. Sailors Endowed Professor of Economics and Department Chairman
International economics, Macroeconomics, Time series econometrics
dpapell@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3807 • Office: 201 D
Website

 
John Antel

John Antel
Ph.D., University of California, LA
Professor
Labor economics
antel@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-2933 • Office: 320B 

 

Ruxandra Prodan Boul

Ruxandra Prodan Boul
Ph.D., University of Houston
Clinical Assistant Professor, Undergraduate Director
International Finance, Time Series Econometrics, Macroeconomics
rprodan@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3836 • Office: 201 E
Website

 
Aimee Chin

Aimee Chin
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Associate Professor
Labor, Development
achin@central.uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3761 • Office: 221 B
Website

 
Steven Craig

Steven Craig
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Associate Dean for Faculty and Research; Office: 402F AH
Professor
Public economics, Public choice, Applied microeconometrics
scraig@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3812 • Office: 202 A 

 
German Cubas

German Cubas
Ph.D., University of Iowa
Macroeconomics and Economic Growth and Development
germancubas@gmail.com
Website

 
Thomas DeGregori

Thomas DeGregori
Ph.D., University of Texas
Professor
Economic development; Technology; Science in economic change; African, Asian and Caribbean economic development
trdegreg@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3838 • Office: 209 D
Website

 
Willa Helterline Friedman

Willla Helterline Friedman
Ph.D., UC Berkeley
Assistant Professor
Economic development, Health, Political Economy, Behavioral Economics
email • Phone: 713-743- • Office:
Website

 
Paul Gregory

Paul Gregory
Ph.D., Harvard University
Professor, Cullen Distinguished Professor of Economics
Soviet economics, Transition economics, Economic history, Comparative economics, Economic demography, Energy economics
pgregory@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3828 • Office: 229 A

 
Polly Hardee

Polly Hardee
Ph.D., University of Houston
Clinical Assistant Professor
Money and Banking
phardee@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3810 • Office: 216 

 
Brett Jiu

Brett Jiu
Ph.D., New York University
Clinical Assistant Professor
Financial economics, Financial econometrics
hjiu@Central.UH.EDU • Phone: 713-743-7133 • Office: 216
Website

 
Chinhui Juhn

Chinhui Juhn
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Henry Graham Professor of Economics, Graduate Co-Director
Labor economics
cjuhn@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3823 • Office: 201 A
Website

 
Janet Kohlhase

Janet Kohlhase
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Professor
Urban economics, Regional economics, Environmental economics
jkohlhase@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3799 • Office: 201 B
Website

 
Jee-Yeon Lehmann

Jee-Yeon Lehmann
Ph.D., Boston University
Assistant Professor
Labor Economics, Applied Microeconomics, Law and Economics
jlehmann@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3378 • Office: 211B
Website

 
Elaine Liu

Elaine Liu
Ph.D., Princeton University
Assistant Professor
Development, Health economics, Behavioral economics and Labor
emliu@Central.UH.EDU • Phone: 713-743-3861 • Office: 223 D
Website

 
Vikram Maheshri

Vikram Maheshri
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Assistant Professor
Applied Microeconomics, Urban Economics, Political Economy
vmaheshri@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3833 • Office: 221A
Website

 
Christian Murray

Christian Murray
Ph.D., University of Washington
Associate Professor
Time series econometrics, Business cycle analysis, International finance
cjmurray@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3835 • Office: 211 D
Website

 
Roy Ruffin

Roy Ruffin
Ph.D., Northwestern University
Anderson Distinguished Professor of Economics
International economics, Price theory
rruffin@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3827 • Office: 229 C

 

Bent Sorensen

Bent Sørensen
Ph.D., University of Copenhagen
Professor, Lay Professor in International Economics, Graduate Co-Director
Macroeconomics, Econometrics
besorensen@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3841 • Office: 209 A
Website

 
Andrea Szabo

Andrea Szabó
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Assistant Professor
Industrial Organization, Development Economics
aszabo2@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3840 • Office: 209 B
Website

 
Rebecca Achee Thornton

Rebecca Achée Thornton
Ph.D., University of Houston
Clinical Assistant Professor, Director- MA Applied Economics Program
Macroeconomics, Economic Growth
rthornton@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3820 • Office: 204 A

 
Gergely Ujhelyi

Gergely Ujhelyi
Ph.D., Harvard University
Assistant Professor
Applied theory, Political economy, Environmental economics
gujhelyi@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3815 • Office: 223 C
Website

 
Ross vanWassenhove

Ross vanWassenhove
Ph.D., Rice University
Instructional Assistant Professor
rsvanwassenhove@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-0941 • Office: 220
Website

 
Dietrich Vollrath

Dietrich Vollrath
Ph.D., Brown University
Associate Professor
Economic growth, Macroeconomics, Population economics, Agricultural economics
devollrath@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3806 • Office: 201 C
Website

 

Natalia Zhivan 
Ph.D., Boston College 
Clinical Assistant Professor 
Health Economics, Health Services Research, Research on Aging, Applied Econometrics 
nazhivan@central.uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-0505 • Office: 209 C 

Andy Zuppann

Andrew Zuppann
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Assistant Professor
Labor economics, Health economics
cazuppann@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3831 • Office: 221C
Website

 

Emeritus Faculty

Thomas Mayor
Ph.D., University of Maryland
Professor Emeritus
Law and economics
thmayor@sbcglobal.net

 
Barton Smith

Barton Smith
Ph.D., University of Chicago
Professor
Urban economics
bsmith@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3834 • Office: 232 C
Website

 
Henry Steele

Henry Steele
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Professor Emeritus
International economics, Price theory

 

Visiting Faculty, Lecturers, and Fellowships Directory

 
William Alexander

William Alexander
walexander@uh.edu • Phone: 713-743-3810 • Office: Classroom and Business Building: 302C CBB

 
Ed Hirs

Ed Hirs
CFA; MA, MBA, Yale University
Finance, Energy Economics
edhirs@aol.com • Phone: 961-9661

 
Joel Melendez-Lugo

Joel Melendez-Lugo
PhD, University of Houston
Macroeconomics
guateke420@yahoo.com

 
Adam Perdue

Adam Perdue
PhD, University of Houston
Public Economics, Microeconomics
awperdue@hotmail.com