Skip to main content

Faculty Advisory Board

Faculty Advisory Committee

Nicolas Kanellos, Brown Foundation Professor of Hispanic Studies

Christina Sisk, Associate Professor of Hispanic Studies

Daphne Hernandez, Assistant Professor of Health and Human Performance 

Luis Torres, Associate Dean of Research and Strategic Partnerships

Roberto Tejada, Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished Professor of English

Research Committee

Jeronimo Cortina, Associate Professor of Political Science

Christina Sisk, Associate Professor of Hispanic Studies

Virmarie Correa-Fernandez, Assistant Professor of Psychological Health and Learning Services

Elizabeth Farfán-Santos, Assistant Professor of Anthropology

Jorge Gonzalez, Associate Professor of Psychological Health and Learning Services

Graduate Fellowship Committee

Mark Goldberg, Assistant Professor of History

Isabel Torres, Associate Professor of Social Work

Visiting Scholars Committee

Michael Olivas, William B. Bates Distinguished Professor of Law

Monica Perales, Associate Professor of History

Arturo Hernandez, Professor of Psychology

Mentoring Committee

Norma Olvera, Professor of Educational Psychology

Consuelo Arbona, Professor of Counseling Psychology

Community Advisory Committee

Adan Medrano, Chef and Food Writer

Mikaela Selley, Hispanic Collections Archivist at the Houston Metropolitan Research Center

Estevan Azcona, CMAS Lecturer, Performance and Residency Director and Music Director, MECA

Veronica Bernal, UH Law Center Fellow and Activist.

Henry SanchezArtist, Founder and Director of LOCCA

Laura Lopez CanoArtist and Activist 

Melissa TorresDirector of the Human Trafficking Research Portfolio at UTA

Curriculum Committee

Lorenzo Cano, Associate Director, Center for Mexican American Studies,

Delilah Montoya, Professor of Art,

Guadalupe San Miguel, Professor of History,

Paul Guajardo, Associate Professor of English,   

Gabriela Baeza-Ventura, Associate Professor of Hispanic Studies,