Skip to main content

Faculty Advisory Board

Faculty Advisory Committee

Nicolas Kanellos, Brown Foundation Professor of Hispanic Studies
kanellos@uh.edu

Christina Sisk, Associate Professor of Hispanic Studies
clsisk@uh.edu

Daphne Hernandez, Assistant Professor of Health and Human Performance
dherna32@central.uh.edu 

Luis Torres, Associate Dean of Research and Strategic Partnerships
lrtorres@uh.edu

Roberto Tejada, Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished Professor of English 
rtejada@uh.edu

Research Committee

Jeronimo Cortina, Associate Professor of Political Science
jcortina2@uh.edu

Christina Sisk, Associate Professor of Hispanic Studies
clsisk@uh.edu

Virmarie Correa-Fernandez, Assistant Professor of Psychological Health and Learning Services
vcorreafernandez@uh.edu

Elizabeth Farfán-Santos, Assistant Professor of Anthropology
efarfan-santos@uh.edu

Jorge Gonzalez, Associate Professor of Psychological Health and Learning Services
jegonzalez14@uh.edu

Graduate Fellowship Committee

Mark Goldberg, Assistant Professor of History
magoldberg@uh.edu

Isabel Torres, Associate Professor of Social Work
istorres@uh.edu

Visiting Scholars Committee

Michael Olivas, William B. Bates Distinguished Professor of Law
 molivas@uh.edu

Monica Perales, Associate Professor of History
mperales3@uh.edu

Arturo Hernandez, Professor of Psychology
aeherna3@central.uh.edu

Mentoring Committee

Norma Olvera, Professor of Educational Psychology
nolvera@uh.edu

Consuelo Arbona, Professor of Counseling Psychology
carbona@uh.edu

Community Advisory Committee

Adan Medrano, Chef and Food Writer
adan@jmcommunications.com

Mikaela Selley, Hispanic Collections Archivist at the Houston Metropolitan Research Center
mikaela.selley@houstontx.gov

Estevan Azcona, CMAS Lecturer, Performance and Residency Director and Music Director, MECA 
scazcona@uh.edu

Veronica Bernal, UH Law Center Fellow and Activist.
vbernal@cmrllp.com

Henry SanchezArtist, Founder and Director of LOCCA
hgsanchez3@yahoo.com

Laura Lopez CanoArtist and Activist
laura_lopez_cano@hotmail.com 

Melissa TorresDirector of the Human Trafficking Research Portfolio at UTA
mitorres@austin.utexas.edu

Curriculum Committee

Lorenzo Cano, Associate Director, Center for Mexican American Studies,
cano@uh.edu

Delilah Montoya, Professor of Art,
dmontoya2@uh.edu

Guadalupe San Miguel, Professor of History,
gsanmiguel@uh.edu

Paul Guajardo, Associate Professor of English,
pg@uh.edu   

Gabriela Baeza-Ventura, Associate Professor of Hispanic Studies,
gbventura@uh.edu

Christina Sisk, Associate Professor of Hispanic Studies
clsisk@uh.edu

Daphne Hernandez, Assistant Professor of Health and Human Performance
dherna32@central.uh.edu 

Ruth M. LopezAssistant Professor of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
rmlopez3@uh.edu

Mabel CuestaAssistant Professor of Hispanic Studies
mcuesta@uh.edu