African American Studies
The University of Houston
629 Agnes Arnold Hall
Houston, TX 77204-3303
(713) 743-2811

 

Faculty

Affiliate Faculty

Conyers

Dr. James L. Conyers
Director
Office: 632 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2813
Email: jconyers@uh.edu
Download Cv

Hogue

Dr. W. Lawrence Hogue
Office: 221B Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2950
Email: whogue@uh.edu

Horne

Dr. Gerald Horne
Department of History
Office: 546 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-3114
Email: ghorne@uh.edu

Howard

Dr. Philip A Howard
Associate Professor
Department of History
Office: 535 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-3105
Email: pahoward@uh.edu

Janis Hutchinson

Dr. Janis Hutchinson
Department of Anthropology
Office: 258D McElhinney Hall
Phone: (713) 743-3785
Email: jhutchinson@uh.edu
Download Cv

Latting

Dr. Jean Kantambu Latting
Professor of Social Work, Graduate School of Social Work Office: 237 Social Work Building
Phone: (713) 743-8097
Email: jlatting@uh.edu

Lee

Dr. Shayne Lee
Associate Professor
Department of Sociology
Office: 471 Philip G. Hoffman Hall
Phone: (713) 743-3954
Email: slee3@uh.edu

Mizelle

Dr. Richard Mizelle, Jr.
Assistant Professor
Department of History
Office: 547 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-3087
Email: rmmizelle@uh.edu

Pearson

Dr. Demetrius Pearson
Department of Health & Human Performance
Office: 104P Garrison
Phone: (713) 743-9849
Email: dpearson@uh.edu

Williams

Dr. Louis Williams
Professor of Medicinal Chemistry
Office: 549 Science and Research Building 2
Phone: (713) 743-1275
Email: lwilliams@uh.edu

Tolliver

Dr. Cedric R. Tolliver
Office: 234D Roy Cullen
Phone: (713) 743-1407
Email: ctolliver@uh.edu

Walker

Dr. Rheeda L. Walker
Director
Culture, Risk, and Resilience Lab
Office: 1006 Clinical Research and Services
Phone: (713) 743-6696
Email: rlwo@uh.edu

Keith McNeal

Dr. Keith McNeal
Department of Comparative Cultural Studies
Office: 233 McElhinney Hall
Phone: (713) 743-3987
Email: keith.e.mcneal@gmail.com

Adjunct Faculty

Frank Anderson

Franklin Anderson
Director Challenger Program
Office: Student Service Center 319B
Phone: 713-743-5422
Email: franklin.anderson@central.uh.edu

Dr. Chiles

Dr. John Chiles, IV
Office: 660 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: 713-743-4173
Email: chiles@uhcl.edu

Malachi

Dr. Malachi D. Crawford
Assistant Director
Office: 632 Agnes Arnold Hall
Phone: (713) 743-2811
Email: mcrawford@uh.edu

Carole Poindexter-Sylvers
Email: sylversc@uhcl.edu

Professor Walker

Professor Walker

Erron Putman

Eronn A. Putman, Esquire
Office: 660
Phone: 713-743-4173
Email: eaputman@uh.edu

 

Visiting Scholars

Dr. Marcia Walker

Dr. Marcia Walker-McWilliams
Office: 635
Phone: 713-743-4126
E-mail: mawalker3@uh.edu


Dr. Vincent Willis

Dr. Vincent Willis
Office: 637
Phone: 713-743-0400
E-mail: vdwillis@central.uh.edu