Skip to main content

Administration and Staff

Office of the Dean

Patricia Belton Oliver, FAIA, ACSA Distinguished Professor
Dean | Director, designLAB | Professor 
713.743.2400
poliver@uh.edu

Dietmar Froehlich, Ph.D., RA
Interim Associate Dean | Professor
713.743.2385
dfroehlich@uh.edu

Trang Phan
Assistant Dean
Admissions and Academic Advising Services 
Director of Student Affairs and Development 
713.743.3463
trangphan@uh.edu

Cecilia Rodriguez
Director of College Business Operations
713.743.2365
caceves@central.uh.edu

Stephen Schad
Executive Director of Communications
713.743.2539
saschad@central.uh.edu

LA Maxwell
Web Developer II & Graphic Designer 
713.743.7965
llmaxwell@uh.edu

Sarah Holloway
Director of Alumni Relations
713.743.7014
smhollo2@central.uh.edu

Emily Brents
Director of Advancement
713.743.7906
ekbrents@uh.edu

Debbie Lozano
Executive Administrative Assistant to the Dean 
713.743.2366
dlozano@uh.edu

Cynthia Romero
Administrative Assistant to the Dean 
713.743.9797
cfromero@uh.edu


Business Office

Nhu-Thuy Mai
Department Business Administrator
713.743.2369
ntmai2@central.uh.edu

Nancy Do
Financial Coordinator II
713.743.2369

Hector Abercrombie
Coordinator, Department HR/Payroll II
713.743.5877
habercrombie@uh.edu

Linda Silva
Administrative Coordinator
713.743.2400
hdsilva@central.uh.edu 


Student Services Office

Ashlie Contos
Academic Advisor II
713-743-3463
amcontos@uh.edu

Anne Sullivan
Academic Advisor II
713-743-3463
amsullivan2@uh.edu


Student Support Resources

Antonio Farias
Manger, College/Division Information Services II
713.743.2274
anfarias@central.uh.edu

Daniela De La Cruz

User Services Specialist I
713.743.8261
ddelacr2@Central.UH.EDU

Catherine Essinger
Library Coordinator and Associate Librarian
William R. Jenkins Architecture & Art Library
713.743.2337
cwessinger@uh.edu

Aaron McEuen
Coordinator, Keeland Design Exploration Lab
713.743.9287
armceuen@central.uh.edu

Zachary Brinkman
Coordinator, Model Shop, Keeland Design Exploration Lab
713.743.2274
zbbrinkman@uh.edu


Academic Directors and Coordinators

Graduate Architecture

Gail Peter Borden, FAIA                   
Director, Graduate Studies | Professor
713.743.4114
gborden@uh.edu

Jason Logan
Graduate Coordinator, Module I | Instructor
jlogan@uh.edu

Patrick Peters                              
Coordinator, Graduate Design Build Module II | Associate Director DesignLAB; Professor
713.743.2387
ppeters@uh.edu

Matthew Johnson, AIA                     
Graduate Coordinator, Module III | Associate Professor
713.743.2398
mjohnson13@uh.edu

Rafael Longoria, ACSADP               
Graduate Coordinator, Module IV | Director Atrium Press | Professor
713.743.8490
longoria@uh.edu


Undergraduate Architecture

Rafael Beneytez-Duran, Ph.D.                
Director, Undergraduate Architecture | Associate Professor
713.743.2386
rbeneytez-duran@uh.edu

Meg Jackson                                    
Undergraduate Coordinator Foundation Level | Adjunct Assistant Professor
mhjackson@uh.edu

Tom Diehl, AIA                                
Undergraduate Coordinator, Intermediate Level | Co-Coordinator, Undergraduate Technology Sequence; Associate Professor
713.743.2376
tdiehl@uh.edu

William Truitt, AIA                             
Undergraduate Coordinator, Professional Level | Associate Professor
713.743.2794
wtruitt@uh.edu

Geoffrey Brune, FAIA                      
Undergraduate Coordinator, Comprehensive Design | Coordinator, 20th Century Preservation | Professor
713.743.2381
gbrune@uh.edu

Rives Taylor, FAIA                           
Undergraduate Co-Coordinator, Undergraduate Technology Sequence | Adjunct Associate Professor
rtaylor2@uh.edu

Michael Kubo, Ph.D.                     
Undergraduate Coordinator, History and Theory of Architecture and Design | Assistant Professor
713.743.6653
mkubo@uh.edu

Vera Adams                                      
Undergraduate Coordinator, World Cities Minor | Adjunct Associate Professor
713.743.2405
veraadams@uh.edu


Industrial Design

EunSook Kwon, Ph. D.                     
Director, Industrial Design | Professor
713.743.2396
ekwon@uh.edu


Interior Architecture

Alan Bruton, RA CID                        
Director, Interior Architecture | Associate Professor
713.743.9312
apbruton@uh.edu


Programs

Bruce Race, PhD., FAIA, FAICP     
Director, Sustainability and Resilience | Professor
713.743.2389
barace@uh.edu

Susan Rogers                                   
Director, Community Design Resource Center | Associate Professor
713.743.2403
srogers@uh.edu