Skip to main content

While you were away...

By: Bob Browand


Welcome back Coogs! Hope you had a restful break. We’ve been pretty busy while you were away.

Read on to learn about some of the biggest changes and updates to our services, as well as an important reminder about your representatives on TPAC, the committee that helps guide and advise all of the decisions we make.   

Lots 8A and 9B have been paved!

Over the break, the majority of lots 8A and 9B were converted from gravel to asphalt. The revamped lots were ready for unveiling just in time for the start of the spring semester!

economy lots 8a 9b paved

New shuttle tracking app!

A few months ago, UH Parking and Transportation’s shuttle provider, Groome Transportation, made the decision to begin tracking all Cougar Line buses with DoubleMap, a real-time GPS tracking system. After a period of testing, we’re finally ready to make this new technology available to our users.

Individuals can access DoubleMap by downloading it in either the Google play or Apple App stores. It’s also available online at cougartrax.

Temporary Cougar Line reroutes

As a result of ongoing construction on the I-45 access road, my team and I have made the decision to temporarily alter both the PGH-ERP and Student Center-ERP routes. These changes should help ensure shuttle trips stay on schedule; however, as a result of this change, the stop at ERP’s Building 1 will be discontinued until further notice.

Continue to check the cougarline for updates and more information.

Don’t forget to contact your TPAC representative with your parking concerns

In addition to all of these operational changes, we’ve also been busy planning ahead for the future. Part of that includes scheduling our TPAC meetings.

Our committee calendar for the semester is already filling up and the group will be meeting before the end of THIS week, so if there’s anything urgent you’d like addressed, be sure to connect with one of your representatives ASAP to have your voices heard!

If you can’t make it happen this week, just remember this committee meets EVERY month during the normal academic year, so become familiar with the roster below so you know who to contact, should an issue arise later this semester.

TPAC members for 2016-2017:

Name

Governing Body

Email

Patrick Cirino

Faculty Senate

pccirino@uh.edu              

Ruth Manny

Faculty Senate

rmanny@central.uh.edu 

Jeremy May

Faculty Senate

jmay@uh.edu

Shawn Vaillancourt

Faculty Senate

svaillancourt@uh.edu 

Matthew Castillo

Staff Council

mcastillo10@uh.edu

Elsie Myers

Staff Council

emyers@Central.uh.edu

Lynn Smith

Staff Council

lsmith20@central.uh.edu

Andrew Bahlmann

Student Government Association

ajbahlmann2@uh.edu

Elliot Kauffman

Student Government Association

elliot.kauffman@gmail.com

David Kazanci

Student Government Association

dakazanci@uh.edu

posted: Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2017