Dana C Rooks

Dean, UH Libraries

Dana Rooks

Dana Rooks is Dean of Libraries and Elizabeth D. Rockwell Chair at the University of Houston Libraries.   She holds a Masters in Library Science from Louisiana State University and a Masters in Public Administration from the University of Oklahoma.  She has held positions in the University of Oklahoma Libraries and the University of Missouri-St. Louis.  She joined the University of Houston in 1980 and was named Dean in 1997.

Dana has served as a member of the Board of Directors of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL). She is an active member of the American Library Association (ALA), having served on the Board of Directors of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL).  She also served on the Board of Directors of the Greater Western Library Alliance (GWLA), as Vice-Chair of the Board of AMIGOS Library Services and has held numerous other national leadership roles.  

Dana was one of the founders and primary leaders in the creation and development of TexShare, an innovative model for statewide library resource sharing.

On a State level, Dana completed her term as President of the Texas Library Association (TLA) in 2005.  She was named Texas Librarian of the Year in 1997 and received the TLA 2009 Distinguished Service Award.  She founded and served as President of the Texas Council of Academic Libraries (TCAL), and as Vice-Chair of the Library Services Act Advisory Board.  She currently serves as Chair of the Texas Digital Library.  She continues as an active member of the TexShare Advisory Board.

Dana is a widely published author in the areas of administration and organizational development, the application of library technology, and library fundraising.  She is widely sought as a speaker at the state and national level.

Her success in creating and implementing a highly successful fund-raising effort for the University of Houston Libraries has been widely recognized.  In less than ten years, with no previous record of fund-raising by the Library, she completed a $20 million campaign for a Library building addition, secured significant support for collection endowments, three endowed chairs, and numerous endowments for program support ranging from an endowed staff recognition program to unrestricted endowed funds for library excellence.